Losing It

OK, just as I told everyone that I am not devastated, that VERY night I lost it.  This thing that’s happening to me, it’s more than just not being able to eat all the food I like, but the loneliness and uncertainty that is associated with it, all the additional effort and research you have to do before going anywhere, the potential of it being celiac and increasing the chance of bowel cancer, osteoporsis etc…

I used to love food, but now I am scared of it.  Even when I cook my own food or communicate all my intolerances to restaurants, each bite I wondered how it would affect me.  I am normally a bit of a stresshead anyway, this is making me even more stressed out… and stress is certainly NOT good for my digestive system.

The worst thing you could say to somebody is “you’ll get over it” or “there are more people in the world who is worse off than you”.  Yes I will get over it and certainly there are waaaaaayyyy more people more unfortunate than me, but just in this moment, I just want to lie in the crook of hubby’s arms and cry myself to sleep.  Just for one or two nights.

I’ll be over it after that.  I am sure.

Leave a comment